I Write A Blog Now, Blogs Are Cool.

Hello, Audience!

Let’s imagine for the next few moments that we have assembled in a lovely little library in the English countryside.  The color pallet is warm with dark woods and natural light, accented with cool blues, rich reds, and soothing teals.  The center of the room is dominated by exquisitely comfortable chairs and couches ringed by concentric circles of shelf upon shelf packed full with books, and the air is redolent with the smell of fresh coffee and old paper.  An old Persian rug delights bare toes while protecting the polished oak floor beneath this cabal of comfort.   This is where we will meet to chat about this and that, discuss writing and life, and maybe even learn a few things about ourselves and the world around us.  Mostly, though, it’s where we’ll laugh, because other than sleeping, laughing is my favorite thing ever.

Truth time and full disclosure:  I don’t live in the English countryside, nor do I have this library, but they sure do sound nice, don’t they?  Fear not, though, for soon enough (SOON ENOUGH, DEAR READER!) I will have both these things, and then I’ll invite you all over for coffee and writer chats.  Also there should be a hearth.  Terribly romantic, the hearth.  Perhaps not entirely safe with so much paper and wood around, but it’ll be fine if you don’t insist on roasting marshmallows all the time.  Hm . . . I think that’s the first thing I need to ban in my fictitious library.  No roasting marshmallows.  Sausage should be okay, though.

So, hello and welcome!  As you may have guessed, or read somewhere, or psychically intuited (and if that’s the case, kindly refrain from hanging out in my head as that’s where I keep all my important stuff), I am a writer.  Up and coming, they would say, and they’d be well within their rights to do so.  My genres, as you’re no doubt curious to discover, are predominantly Fantasy and Horror, though I do occasionally make forays into Sci-Fi and Steampunk, or toss them all in an atom smashing Hadron Collider to see what comes out of the resultant explosion of inspiration.  At least, I hope it’s inspiration.  It smells like burnt paper and, for some reason, whiskey, so either it’s inspiration or the ghost of Ernest Hemingway is one unhappy camper.

What’s that?  Why yes, I AM a nerd, in fact.  I think that to some extent all genre writers are, whether they admit it or not, but I most certainly am.  I love the Trek and the Who (well, I mean, I also like The Who, but they’re  not who . . . the Who?  I– never mind), the Potter and the Hobbits, Lemon Demon, Wil Wheaton, Comic Con, [Day9], Felicia Day and The Guild, a little WoW, a little Repo! The Genetic Opera, The Devil’s Carnival, and Terrance Zdunich, and, guys, you guys, seriously, I love H.P. Lovecraft.  HUGE into Lovecraft.  Love . . . Lovecraft.  Yes.  Lovecraft.

This isn’t my first blog, or my first blog about writing, but the other one is . . . dumb.  Well, no, it’s not dumb.  I’ll probably actually re-post some entries here, but I got very excited about documenting the processes that go into Fantasy world-building, which is still just so awesome, but a little too specific, and I wasn’t always doing anything interesting with the world-building when I should have been writing entries about it, so it never went anywhere.  But now there’s this!  And it’s whatever I want it to be!  It will probably be about writer things, but it will probably also have nothing to do with writing, maybe simultaneously, though I suppose seeing that would depend on how many realities you’re reading the blog in, and whether two opposing topics are posted on the same day.

Yes.  I think that all looks to be in order then.  Congratulations on a successful first post, Me!  Now if you can just find it in you to post with enough regularity to keep you some followers, ah, that’s the dream!

*****

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Adalind Monroe is one cool cucumber three clicks away from sending ninjas after the people who created this site for making it impossible to do what she really needs to do.  Sure, posting words to a blog is the biggest part of writing a blog, but being kicked out of an unsaved post every time she wants to insert a helpful link to her biographical page, because the ability to add a widget to do that for her is apparently too much to ask for, is so many shades of uncool, you guys.  For reals.  Fix that.

If you can find her author page, check out the links to find her published stories, or search for her directly on Smashwords.com.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “I Write A Blog Now, Blogs Are Cool.

  1. Ed says:

    I’m glad to see you’ve been assimilated into the Borg with the rest of us! Honestly, I had several half-hearted attempts to blog under my belt before I finally got The Aberrant Pen off the ground. It’s a completely different game than fiction, but I’ve enjoyed it quite a bit!

    You’ve been so helpful to me, if I can offer you any advice or assistance with your new blog, please don’t hesitate to ask! I actually highly recommend Kristen Lamb’s book, “We Are Not Alone,” which taught me most of the stuff I know about blogging (besides lurking and soaking it up like a sponge before imitating, as I’ve done my whole life in any endeavor I actually care about).

    Welcome to WordPress! I hope it behaves better for you, but you know, wrangling unruly technology is just part of the territory. I’m thrilled to have you as a blog neighbor, so happy writing!

    • Larissa says:

      Actually, I’m not too intimidated by the blogging part. I’ve got my blogger voice pretty well set, and the mentality with which I’d like to approach it. What makes this attempt different from others, though, is that I never really had any goals with them, and thus it was always rather like writing to an empty room you never expected to see filled, whereas this is absolutely intended to attract attention and find an audience to grow. Thus, I think it will have far more success so long as I update it regularly.

      I’m glad you’ve found our conversations helpful, but you might want to reserve that offer to help me back until AFTER you’ve read the first brutal round of edits I sent you maybe an hour ago. If you still like me, maybe we can work something out.

      So thank you for the welcome! Fitting it be you to give it.

  2. Thanks for all of your work on this web page. I am looking forward to reading more of your posts in the future.

    • Larissa says:

      Thank you for the kind words. I apologize for the delay in replying, but WordPress hid your comment. I do hope you continue to stop by and find something interesting, useful, or (at the very least) amusing in my posts. Thanks again for taking the time to read and comment.

  3. My Homepage says:

    I always was interested in this subject and nonetheless am, thankyou for posting . 805424

  4. Way cool, some valid points! I appreciate you making this article available, the rest of the site is also high quality. Have a fun.

Leave a Reply

War of the Words

Now With 20% Less Sleep!

The Fear Mythos

Organized information for writers and readers

Now With 20% Less Sleep!

edittorrent

Now With 20% Less Sleep!

Fiction University

Now With 20% Less Sleep!

Now With 20% Less Sleep!

Lucinda Bilya - Blog

Now With 20% Less Sleep!

Now With 20% Less Sleep!

McSweeney’s

Now With 20% Less Sleep!

SlushPile Hell

Now With 20% Less Sleep!

Writer's Relief, Inc.

Now With 20% Less Sleep!

terribleminds: chuck wendig

Now With 20% Less Sleep!

On The Bird

Now With 20% Less Sleep!

French Press

Pure, unadulterated France

